Saturday exploration

Despite the fact that I work almost every day, I try to make time to do a little exploring! Yesterday we got out of Brighton for a day trip to Bramber Village, a cute little place in West Sussex that happens to also hold remnants of a castle! I really do love castles, and even though there isn’t much left of this one, it was still really cool to see.

While some people might find this mundane, I am amazed. Mainly because we don’t have anything this old in Canada. Bramber Castle was built around 1070 by William De Braose. That’s a long time ago. It truly astounds me that some structures were built so long ago, and are still standing. Buildings built just a few decades ago can be found rusting and deteriorating, where have we gone wrong in the 21st Century?! It was a similar feeling as when I visited the Hagia Sofia in Istanbul. With such limited resources and technology, I can’t even imagine how these places were built.

There is something so wonderful about exploring these historic landmarks, I always try to imagine what has happened there in the past, what people were like, what they were doing, and how they lived. Sometimes history makes me feel so small and insignificant, my existence is really just a blink, a quick flash in the universe.

So even though it was a dreary day we had fun! In fact, a bit of rain might even add a bit of charm in my books. We’ve had plenty of sunshine in Brighton, so I didn’t mind. I have learned to never leave the house without an umbrella in my bag. After all, this is England.

Image

Image

Image

After our castle exploration and mini history lesson, we obviously went to the pub. I’ve become a big fan of a local brewery, Harvey’s, located in Lewes. There is also a really cool castle in Lewes, FYI.

I was doubtful of ales, but once I had Harvey’s, I was impressed. A big thanks to my friend Dan for encouraging me to try it. I should never have hesitated!

So what goes best with a pint? My very first Bangers n’ Mash! I have fallen off the pescetarian wagon my friends, but for good reason. I decided that while I’m traveling I should probably give new foods a chance. Meat happens to be fairly popular here and in Europe (Sunday roasts, for example). I couldn’t bare to miss out on all of the wonderful dishes, so after well over a year without chicken, beef, or pork…I have indulged. It feels good to be back in the game, although I do still cook veggie dishes on the regular.

That was my rainy but lovely day in Bramber Village!

Image

-M

Leave a Reply

