Going green

As you may know, I am a smoothie lover. Berries, bananas, coconut and all that good stuff. But I have recently decided that green smoothies just might be the way to go. Especially after a long weekend indulging in chocolate and other goodies.

I decided to tread lightly at first, fearing the worst when it came to taste but craving that extra boost of energy. I’m always up for trying something new, but a liquid salad didn’t exactly seem all that appealing.

The first step towards getting to know your green smoothie is by adding spinach to your regular smoothie. I usually add about half a cup, and due to it’s light flavour, you can barely taste the difference. I was perfectly okay with this and have been doing it for a few months now.

DSC_0381

Then I decided it was time to take the plunge. I would go full green for my post work out snack.

Surprisingly enough, it didn’t taste too bad at all. I actually enjoyed it. There are a few tricks to making it a little less bitter and a little more sweet. Here’s what I did.

1. Started with about 1 cup of water in the blender and some fresh lemon juice.

2. Throw in some greens! I used cucumber, red leaf lettuce, spinach, celery, and bok choy. Then blended.

3. After blending this through, I added an apple, some blueberries, 2 cubes of ice, and some chia seeds.

The final step is to enjoy! Of course you can add in a lot more or switch things up.

Other things to try in your green smoothie are bananas, carrots, parsley, cilantro, and kale.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

