The plain white tee

I appreciate simplicity, especially when it comes to fashion. I love when I see someone in a great outfit that probably didn’t require a lot of effort. I guess some might just have a natural flair for this, but I think anyone can rock a plain white tee and make it look awesome. I was reminded of this just yesterday while flipping through racks of clothing at The Gap. I stumbled upon a white tee and then my head became filled with ideas.

I would definitely have to say that owning a plain white tee is essential. I really can’t live without it, so I have several, including a long sleeve, a scoop neck, a v-neck, the list goes on. My favourite place to purchase my white tees, if you haven’t already guessed, is The Gap. They are soft, cozy and of great quality. American Apparel comes at a close second, but the fabric just doesn’t quite compare.

So, once you have the plain white tee, you can do a lot with it. However, I am warning you: be careful with that red wine, pasta sauce, etc. If spillage does occur, soak immediately!

So, getting to the good stuff, how does one become simply stylish instead of simply boring in their white tee?

Here are a few suggestions.

1. Mix with a pattern

There is something I love about floral pants and printed skirts/shorts with a plain white tee. It’s cute and easy to put together when in a hurry. I also recently found myself trying on some light patterned pants, and yes, I did in fact purchase them. I was hesitant, as I had been avoiding this trend, but it felt right. Especially if you find a way to wear them that you think suits your style. I would suggest buying a cheaper pair at a store like Forever 21 before splurging on better quality, just in case you change your mind.

Forever 21

Forever 21

2. Layer it

You were waiting for this moment. I can’t help it, throwing a denim piece over a plain white tee is a favourite option of mine.  This is also a great add on to your patterned lower half, because lets face it, denim only ever enhances. So long as it’s the right wash for your outfit.

I am also a huge fan of vests, especially in the summer time. When it’s just too hot to throw on a cardigan but you want to add something extra, a vest is perfect. Striped, printed, denim, I love them all. So long as they aren’t too boxy. A great place to find vests is at vintage and thrift shops. I have found some of my greatest vests hidden in forgotten corners too many times. For example, I found this gem at Value Village a few years back.

0a77fd1a7d0511e2a82422000a9e07ae_7

The layering option also coincides with adding some patterns. I love a white tee with some denim shorts and a plaid button up. You can also dress it up with a blazer.

3. Accessorize 

The best way to make your look a little more girlish, especially when you are dabbling in flannel territory.

Whether its a necklace or some arm candy, it’s a sure way to dress up your outfit. I love longer necklaces and chunky bracelets.

I’m also a big fan of scarves layered over the white tee. If you have ever bought a crazy patterned scarf like I have and then struggled to figure out what to pair it with, this is your solution!

These are just a few ideas that I usually stick to. What are some of your favourite ways to dress up your plain white tee?

M

Leave a Reply

