TRUST

I had the fortune of seeing TRUST last night, a Canadian band from Toronto.  My sister introduced me this past fall and we have both since fallen in love.

Yes, you might notice the music makes you want to brood and probably drink hard liquor, but that’s exactly why I dig it. Something about it reminds me of the 80s, and  if you know me you will know that I happen to love the 80s.  It’s probably something to do with the poppy nature of the beats and the synthesizers. I find myself bobbing around melodically, but there is a serious darkness about the music. I’m sure you have heard of the term “chillwave”, with bands like Toro Y Moi and Washed Out being labeled as such. Well this is considered “Darkwave”, so make of that what you will.

The show was not as packed as I had imagined it would be, but this actually made me feel happy more than anything. I have grown tired of being shoulder to shoulder, so this was a nice break. I actually found I was cold  – this almost never happens, especially at Ritual, where most kids can be found dancing and sweating profusely on a Friday night.

I just caught the tail end of Death Ledger‘s set, which seemed to combine hip hop with heavy bass, hard hitting drums, and a darker demeanor. It was unlike anything I’ve ever seen before. The faces of the musicians were shrouded in darkness, the only light coming from the back by the bar and some deep red lighting on stage. This was a theme for the night though.

I really enjoyed ERAAS, a band from New York. The singer’s voice really made me think of Health and Placebo, but he was using his pipes in a different way. Definitely experimental, the songs had great flow and I was mostly mesmerized by the way they would switch up instruments and continue into a new song so gracefully. It wasn’t conventional, but then again I think that’s what makes them so talented. It was raw and not perfected, it made me feel happy.

When TRUST finally appeared on stage, that’s when people finally had the courage to step a little closer to the stage. Before this most were keeping a distance of at least five feet. Of course, the crowd was still small, it was personal, like a house party. Smiling at strangers who felt the same way about being here. It was dark, and Robert Alfons stood above us like a tall shadow. His voice is amazing, I found it strange that it was actually real, but I guess men sometimes have that lucky fortune of having such a huge range of notes they can hit.

There were a lot of colours happening, and the strobe lights came on every so often making us feel like we were living in slow motion. The more they played the more everyone grew more comfortable, swaying turned into full on dancing at long last. Of course, upon hearing the opening of “Heaven” people started to go a little crazier.

The show ended five minutes before midnight. I sensed disappointment it was over but I’m sure their lack of albums might have had to do with this. They did play one new song, though, so this could only be a sign of more good things to come.

Leave a Reply

