Refreshed.

Yes, we did just get a huge snow fall here in Ottawa, but I am still awaiting spring’s arrival and preparing myself in the mean time. I don’t know about you, but all of those gloomy months are hard to get through for me. I need some beauty routines to keep me feeling soft and fresh. There is nothing worse than dry, dull skin in the winter. Yes, most of the time you are covered up, but I still like to pamper myself. It’s refreshing and gives you a little mood boost. Also, it saves you the trouble of sloughing off all misery come April.

Here are a few things I like to keep in my cabinet:

A facial scrub. I’ve been using Clinique exfoliating scrub. This one is different than the seven day scrub because unlike that one, you cannot use this one daily. I only use it about once a week since I have rather sensitive skin.

url

I also have been trying out different masks here and there. I am a huge fan of Lush products, and their masks are always fresh. They need to be kept in your fridge, so when you slather it on it’s cold and refreshing. But beware – share with friends or use it up in a few weeks – they expire eventually. But for the price – around $7 for a small pot – it’s totally worth it. My ultimate favourite has been the BB seaweed mask. I have combination skin so it smoothed out my rough patches but didn’t leave my skin feeling too tight and dry.

BB SEAWEED

Cosmetic Warrior was my second favourite. The smell might put you off because it’s packed with garlic, but it’s great for oilier skin or on weeks when you find yourself with a few spots.

As for moisturizing, I’m a Clinique three step system kind of gal. I use their moisturizing gel at night and in the morning. When my face is feeling a tad bit more thirsty I will occasionally use St. Ives Timeless Skin, but only at night.

Moving along to the torso…we so often forget about our legs in the winter. They are still there! Dying to be loved and begging for moisture! I usually use Vitabath moisturizing shower gel. My mother got me hooked on it a couple of years ago. It smells like the ocean, so you almost feel like you’re somewhere that doesn’t involve you stepping out into subzero temperatures. There are other scents you can try, but this one is my tried and true.

url

As for post shower moisturizing – my skin has never been too dry, but I usually buy those huge pump bottles of vaseline’s cocoa butter or aloe moisturizer. My feet are another story. I usually end up scraping at them a couple of times a week. I know, gross. But my foot savior has been Burt’s Bees coconut foot creme. This stuff is heavy duty, as in, slather it on, put on thick socks and wait until the sun rises. The results are amazing though.

url

And last but certainly not least we will move onto our mane. The wind and the cold love to torture our delicate tresses. I am in a constant battle of not allowing my hair to get too dry. The secret is letting yourself have second day hair, you might be surprised. Of course my thick hair makes this easier, finer hair might be a different story. On days when I’m feeling a little dried out I use a deep conditioner by Joico.

url

What are some of your beauty secrets to keeping yourself glowing through the winter months?

M

Leave a Reply

