Breakfast: my favourite meal of the day

I am a huge fan of breakfast. Of course I am a firm believer that it is the most important meal of the day. If you skip it, then your whole day is going to suck. At least until lunch time, anyway.

I know your time can be lacking some days, we’ve all slept in… or turned off our alarm in our sleep. Er, is that just me?

Okay, so if you want to last until noon without passing out you’re going to need something with substance. I usually try to include a smoothie in my morning routine.

My smoothie usually contains:

– Banana

– Blueberries, or other berries. Frozen of fresh. (If fresh, just add a couple of ice cubes before blending)

– Coconut oil

– Flax seeds or  chia seeds

– Almond milk/rice milk

– And on days when I’m feeling crazy I’ll throw in some greek yogurt for extra protein.

I also happen to love eggs. It’s an obsession that I know I will have to cut back on one day. But I usually have at least one egg 3-4 times a week with my breakfast. When your in a rush, you can always try putting your egg in the microwave. Something I’ve tried recently is cracking an egg in a ramekin (make sure you oil it first). Then I’ll throw a few spices in, a slice of tomato and some cheese. You can also add a bottom layer of bread if you so desire. Microwave for about 2 minutes.

Voila! A delicious and easy breakfast

DSC_0170

M

One thought on “Breakfast: my favourite meal of the day

Leave a Reply

