Sheer brilliance

I have recently become somewhat infatuated with sheer fabrics. It all began with an item I never really imagined myself wearing. But I had this sudden urge to own something completely see-through. Although maybe a bit ridiculous, I do love them, and rock them on occasion. Tights, shorts, or spandex are something that should be worn beneath…to be honest, I’m not one to show off my underwear.

American Apparel

Showing off your bra on the other hand…that’s a different story altogether. Sheer tops are always fun, especially in this warm weather. I’ve grown to love the light and fine material on a sunny day. The breeze goes through it so easily.

One of my greatest shopping moments was actually when I discovered this crop top. Lace in the front, sheer fabric in the back. I have recently learned that my bra is most visible when a camera flash is present…other than that, perfect!

Zinga

Zinga

Since then, my collection of sheer pieces has grown. It makes me quite happy coming home with a new translucent item to add to my closet. Maybe a little bit rebellious, too.

Here are a few of my very own favourites.

H&M (left), Exhileration (right)

The H&M top is a silk front with a light pink transparent back.

2 hearts

2 hearts

I love that the upper half of the dress is sheer, but the bottom half has a solid black layer beneath.

Forever 21

Not too sheer, but ultra light and wonderful.

American Apparel

As for turning these daring when worn alone items into something G-rated, try wearing a simple tank, or even a tube top, underneath. The button ups also look great over solid or patterned dresses.

How do you feel about showing some skin?

M

Leave a Reply

