Ottawa Fashion Week Roundup cont’d

I consider myself one lucky girl! Attending Ottawa Fashion Week  for Canadian-Fashion.ca was a blast!! Got to hang out with some amazing people in the photography pit and mingle with some of Ottawa’s finest. All while snapping photos of some great fashion! It really doesn’t get much better than that.

I know I gave a pretty quick blurb last night about what I had seen so far, but I have a lot more to say about Friday before moving onto Saturday completely! I may have deemed it the most uninteresting and unfashionable night, but I still want to point out the things I appreciated most!

So from attending this weekend’s shows, it’s pretty obvious what you should be aiming to add to your wardrobe.

Bold colours are back! And in Ottawa, we need a little flare after a long winter wrapped up in dark wool coats. Elena’s Creations had some amazing tones, from royal blue to rich reds, but it wasn’t overpowering. There were also some lighter colours in the mix. Definitely some chic looks that range from simple to sassy.

Elena's Creations

Elena's Creations

Elena's Creations

Animal prints were everywhere, as well as other bold prints, as we saw with Amanda Emmanuel on Friday.

Emmanuel’s designs are definitely wearable for some summer fun if you’re looking for a bold colour palette. Nothing dull came down the runway here! The materials looked amazing, but I’m very picky when it comes to my prints. I can’t see myself rocking all of these pieces, but I would definitely recommend this line to those who have a passion for bold and beautiful prints. A few designs I was fan of were the following:

Amanda Emmanuel

Amanda Emmanuel

Amanda Emmanuel

I could honestly go on about Y!D.N.A. forever…the blackface, the gas-masks-turned-stylish studded face-wear, and the shredded outfits and dark tones… but instead I’ll just post more pictures. Feast your eyes on these!

Y!D.N.A.!Y.D.N.A.

Y!D.N.A.

Y!D.N.A.

I’m glad the night ranged, leaving room for something a little heavier.

I was also quite intrigued by frAsh, which brought out some amazing jewellery on angelic like models with feathers on their chests. I felt as though I had been transported back in time to some sort of ancient tribal ritual. Although confused at first, the crowd seemed pleased, and I was too!

The pieces were quite large, including wrist cuffs, heavy chains, and even a stunningly large headpiece. I couldn’t help but wonder how much it must weigh!

frAsh

More to come!

M

*photos copyright Melissa Schilz*

2 thoughts on “Ottawa Fashion Week Roundup cont’d

  1. Blackface is never cute, never funny, never fashionable, never acceptable! It is a grotesque practice that was retired in the 60s.

    • It obviously caused a lot of controversy, I’m not sure why he chose to have the models painted in blackface, but it was probably to stir a little shock in the audience. It worked…people are still talking.

Leave a Reply

