OFW

I have the pleasure of attending Ottawa Fashion Week as a contributer for Canadian-Fashion.ca this weekend!

First night of Ottawa Fashion Week brought tears to my eyes in more than one way.

There was some serious style alongside some unfortunate disasters. I noticed myself comparing one woman’s coat to an ostrich. This is not a good thing.

Feathers, pleather and silk are absolutely in this time of year, but only appreciated when done right. Although night one brought some disappointment, Saturday evening made up for this travesty.

I really enjoyed most of this evening, and there were very few pieces that left me feeling unsure. The colours that ElizBourk brought to the runway were a favourite of the night. Some of the models seemed to float down the runway, along with the giant white balloons that some had in tow. She told me she got most of her inspiration from fashion blogs and street style.

ElizBourk

Last night, Y!D.N.A was pure brilliance. At first the reaction from the onlookers was one of shock and confusion, but can we expect anything else from Canada’s breakthrough designer of 2010? I’m talking goth-erotic, and even a little kinky. One thing I can’t deny, this collection made the evening! You couldn’t help but stare and the appeal was undeniable. Most of it was not exactly wearable, but eye catching and frisky. Definitely a show stopper and brought back a tired crowd of fashion lovers. Was Ottawa ready for this? I think so! I’m so sick of the bashing towards Ottawa street style. Yes, you have to dig to find some gold, but when you do get there you have truly hit the jackpot.

Y!D.N.A

Y!D.N.A

!Nu.I was another fan favourite of Friday evening, rocking the erotic nerd look. Heavy knits and gorgeous details made it worth my while. I loved the sleekness of the designs, and the collection was quite eclectic with a range of inspiring outfits. I thought my hopes for Ottawa Fashion Week had been dashed until this moment. And it only has gotten better.

!Nu.I

!Nu.I

That’s all for now! But trust me, there’s so much more to be said! After all, I haven’t even yet mentioned the fabulous Rachel Sin! For now I have well over 1200 photos to continue to sift through and edit. I’ll be posting all the designs from this weekend for  Canadian-Fashion.ca.

*Photos copyright Melissa Schilz*

One thought on “OFW

Leave a Reply

