The hair situation

After years of denying my curls, I finally managed to embrace them. It took time, but now I do not use my straightening iron to merely straighten, but to give my hair some wave and some bounce. Since giving in to the natural wave, I find myself disliking the straight haired look…

One thing is for sure, curly girls, you need to learn to manage them. I was unaware for awhile, hence my hatred for them. Taming them is now second nature. You might even call it fun. And the best part of having thick curls or wave? Second day hair, without the grease! Sometimes it even looks better than the day before. I apologize to the ladies with thinner hair…

Curly girls, I recommend the following…

1. Ditch the blowdryer every so often. Letting your hair air dry is nice, and you might be surprised at how great it looks. I know I was.

2. Use a good shampoo. Pantene smells good but it leaves so much residue in your hair, it makes me want to gag. I like Redken and Biolage. Classic favourites.

3. Use the right product. And not too much either. Trust me, I’ve used almost every curl taming cream, mousse, gel, spray and serum there is. Very few have held my interest, as I am very picky. Thick pump creams weigh your hair down too much, so personally, I avoid those.

Moroccan oil is by far the best thing I have used. Doesn’t leave your hair greasy, and great for thick dry hair. So smooth!

When I DO blow dry my hair, I use this:

And for days I wanna be gelin’…

Sometimes I’ll put moroccan oil in my hair, let it dry, and then scrunch it out with gel. You just have to make sure you don’t use too much gel, helmet head is so 90s and we’re over it. There is nothing worse than a crunchy curl!

For a softer look, I take strands of hair and twist them around my straightening iron. Do this from root to tip, practice makes perfect because it takes some skill. But the results can be better than a curling iron if you do it right! Just need a rounded edge, like I have on my argan straightener.

These are my favourites as of today, but I try new product all the time, so I’ll keep you posted if I find something even better!

Leave a Reply

