Daze

The past few days have been a blur mainly consisting of Sufjan Stevens. If you still haven’t at least streamed the EP, you are seriously missing out. I’m not too worried about wearing the album out, because lets face it, can you really wear this guy out? I’ve listened to Seven Swans, Illinois, Michigan…probably hundreds of times but every time I put them on they still feel fresh. How is that? How does he do that?

I’m hoping witnessing him do this live might help me understand my favourite musician [of all time] a little bit more. I’ll probably just have my jaw dropped the entire time though.

OH, yes, ladies and gents. Perhaps I failed to mention that I have recently purchased a ticket to see this beautiful man in Montreal. It’s safe to say that once I see Sufjan, I’ve seen everything I’ll ever need to see, and I’ll be okay with anything that comes my way.

But anyway, I just wanted to say that even while at work, the tune of The Owl and the Tanager follows me. I leave my ipod behind, and it is nestled within the mess of my room somewhere, but the music seems to follow me, and it’s all mixed up in a mess of emotions. Since Friday, I’ve listened to it in it’s entirety, well over 15 times. Perhaps over 20 times. I don’t listen to anything else and though you may call this dangerous I call it working my way into understanding.

You can feel anything when you listen. Happiness, sadness, anger, frustration. The tension of last Friday, it all comes back so quickly. And every song makes me feel something, reminds me of something that I can’t quite put my finger on. Was it that one time, when I was 16…? I don’t know. I probably never will.

How can something so delightful, also be so depressing? But then, when I start the album all over again, it’s refreshed back to being happy. I think this could be one of the best of 2010. Usually, I try not to dig too deep, but I just can’t seem to help it because the music gets to me on such a personal level.

And since I’ve been listening non-stop, everything I do seems to be to the sounds of Sufjan. I’m not complaining, though.

Leave a Reply

