Wayne Coyne is my favourite hippy

Saturday July 10th, 2010.

By the end of this day, the streets of Ottawa were littered with confetti.

The sounds of love echoed off of buildings. The lights were flashing and the kids smoked too much weed and drank too much beer. Even without the substances, the heat and the performance could have pushed you over the edge.

It was something else, really.

And this is how it starts.

—-

Well, I finally got to experience Bear In Heaven. My happiness cannot be explained. ‘Wholehearted Mess’ blew me away, as did ‘Fake out’. I walked into the venue fully expecting it. And I’m glad that my ears were not disappointed.

They were running a bit late getting onstage, I found a lot of the acts on the hard rock stage were. It made it difficult if you wanted to see other bands at similar times, my only complaint, though. They hit the stage a bit after 6, and I was beyond excited to see the mustached boys from Brooklyn. The crowd was small and the set up was pretty intimate. There was some swaying, but I think that once again, my friends and I were the ones who were dancing the most. We do that sometimes.

If you haven’t yet, please give Beast Rest Forth Mouth a spin. It’ll hook you, I promise.

I just had to catch a bit of Caravan Palace before it was over. The larger than life electronic-swing band from Paris is funky and almost indescribable. A little bit gypsy, a little bit electronic, a little bit of swing in the mix too. Dancing was in order, obviously. It was like a crazy dance party, but it was only 6:30. They really know how to get a crowd excited. People who were sitting couldn’t help but change their mind, make their way forward, and dance a little. This music makes you move.

If you haven’t heard them before, you should give them a listen. I never thought I would get to dance to these guys outside the perimeter of my living room!!

Absolutely incredible! Check it out:

After Caravan Palace it was time to camp out for what we had all been waiting for.

The Flaming Lips

We sat patiently waiting, listening to Roger Hodgson of Supertramp sing ‘Take the long way home’ in the distance. It was almost painful, but I just couldn’t sacrifice being this close to Wayne Coyne. We waited and waited. It was all worth it.

The sun was setting and the crowd was restless. Passion Pit was taking the hard rock cafe stage but when 9:30 rolled around we all remembered what we were here for. We were here for the ultimate experience. What seems to be a giant birthday party. What seems to be the best night of your life. And besides, we could see Passion Pit later at Ritual, where they put on a DJ set. By the way, it was pure Dubstep and it was amazing.

The screen lit up, the stage was filled with the colour orange. Cries of excitement. Everyone held their breath as the colourful outline of a naked and tattooed woman dances across the screen.

I was warned before hand, but maybe others didn’t realize that they would be stepping out of a giant vagina when taking the stage. Yes, the naked dancing lady seemed to give birth to The Flaming Lips on Saturday night as thousands of people looked on in amazement.

After all of the members made their way down the vaginal canal and onto the stage, Wayne climbed inside of his giant hampster ball contraption to float not-so-gracefully upon the audience. He fell quite a bit, but I think that was expected. It looked like a rather difficult task.

Opening with ‘The Fear’/’Worm Mountain’ was almost expected, and predicted by a few friends. I was impressed. The men in orange waved their arms onstage. We cheered, we jumped up and down, we got way too excited, like children who had just walked into a candy shop.

Other songs that had to be played, and were, included ‘the yeah yeah yeah song’ and ‘yoshimi battles the pink robots pt. one’. I was hoping for ‘free radicals’, I can’t even lie. But the setlist was still amazingly solid, and they did an epic finish with ‘Do you realize?’ It actually seemed to last forever. And I say that in a very very good way.

The Flaming Lips brought us the ultimate experience. There were balloons and smoke… and the confetti is probably going to be floating around for days. We’ll definitely remember this show. how could we forget?

Wayne Coyne is my favourite hippy. And he spread his love across Ottawa on Saturday night. He even sang atop a bears shoulders. The intensity of the show was incredible…pictures don’t do it justice.

There’s only one way to describe the night that was had…

One thought on “Wayne Coyne is my favourite hippy

  1. The Flaming Lips show was definitely my favourite show I’ve ever been to, and I don’t even like outdoor shows.

Leave a Reply

