Just another Friday night…

When I woke up on Friday, I thought I knew my plan. I thought I knew what I would be doing but it all changed so fast that my head was spinning. I saw something that maybe in the past I would have never wanted to witness. But I’ve grown up, I’ve matured, and I have come to accept Courtney Love. You may not accept her, and that is alright. I still know plenty of people who are convinced she killed Kurt. We’ll never know, but we can always have our theories.

Basically, I know that I had to see John Butler Trio. Walking towards the park I could hear “Better Than” echoing in the sky. That’s when I started to rush to put my bike in safe keeping. I couldn’t stand to miss another second.

Beers in hands, foot tapping, they played “Zebra”. And of course…”Ocean”…my all time favourite and what actually first made me fall in love.

His dreads might be gone but the beautiful music remains.

When they finished the set, it was time to go to Wintersleep in the market, who I last saw in 2008. But then there was a fateful turn of events…and I found myself singing “Happy Birthday” to a drunken Courtney Love.

How did it happen? My friends managed to convince me and I gave into peer pressure.

“When will you EVER get to see Hole again?”

“This is an opportunity to see Courtney-Fucking-Love

I gave in and got to witness a rather sad but awesome show.

man came out to lay towels down where the guest of honour would stand and perform. Or, more or less, stumble upon.

She was wearing a black dress, thigh high boots, and a white men’s dress shirt. Her hair was messy but still perfect. Her lips were red and had clearly been injected with something to boost their size. Her skinny legs held her up in front of us, and she held a guitar up against her frail frame and smiled before slamming her hand against the strings.

She chanted ‘Skinny Little Bitch’ and the predominantly female crowd cheered and sang along. I felt completely and utterly out of place. But I still smiled and did a little headbangin’. It was my only option.

The white shirt came off, revealing her small but strong-looking arms. A tattoo that could not be made-out could be seen on her inner bicep of her right arm. The front row was filled with girls wearing birthday hats.

Then after a few songs she giggled and said “it’s my birthday…I’m turning 29 for the last time”

She was handed a bouquet of flowers from a member of the audience, and she smiled. I wondered what was coming.

Then she threw the bouquet violently and took her hand back to her guitar. Classic Courtney?

About half way through she got a little more demanding. Maybe even mean. She demanded her guitar be brought to her. Then…she demanded a cigarette. A woman with power is a woman who is hott, no matter how much of a wreck she might truly be. And when it comes to her, she is really something else. Ever since I was a little girl this woman has fascinated me. She managed to pin down the king of grunge and carry on even after his final curtain call. How did she do it? Please don’t say drugs, even though that may have been the solution…

The set changed over from rock to a little more blues. She swayed back and forth, cigarette in hand, singing into the microphone. She lifted her dress up past her thighs and placed her left leg on a speaker in front of her. She did this often, revealing her crotch, barely covered by stockings and booty shorts. She didn’t seem to mind the crowd ogling her, because there was no hate. She was being spoon-fed love in her drunken state.

Basically, she’s a badass blonde and even if you want to hate her, you can’t deny that she’s downright awesome and full of something spicy. You wouldn’t want to take a bite, you might burn yourself.

I left the stage where HOLE performed somewhat dumbfounded.

I didn’t know what I was in for.

Then another chick hit the main stage. Yeah, Joan Jett and the Black Hearts.

Of course we got to hear “I love Rock n’ Roll”. I would have left disappointed if I didn’t. the performance was amazing, but the crowd on the other hand didn’t impress a lot of the twenty-somethings in attendance. Joan Jett is 51. She’s not old, in fact, she looks amazing in a black body suit. But most of her fans had brought their lawn chairs and created a forcefield with them in order to not allow other fans enter past a certain point. There was plenty of room in the crowd. But there were also plenty of 60 year old women who wanted to rock out quietly with their lawnchair in front of them. I even witnessed a little bit of violence as one grey-haired grandmother took a swing at a 300 pound guy who was probably 6 foot 7. Yeah, they were that intense about Joan Jett.

I couldn’t get past a certain point due to the lawn chair brigade, but I still managed to get some okay-shots with my little powershot. I got my groove on but the end of the night was bittersweet. I wanted to enjoy myself but I had a lot of pent up anger towards those who felt it was their duty as a citizen to keep the young crowd out. Audience for the closing show gets a big THUMBS DOWN but Joan Jett and her smoking-hott bod get a THUMBS UP!

Either way, watching this woman perform made the night pretty amazing.

Just another Friday night, full of leather, beer, cigarettes and lawn chairs…

Leave a Reply

