Foodies

It’s happening. I am becoming obsessed with cooking and making creations out of what could have been “plain jane”. If I’m not careful, this could totally become a food blog.

All of my creations of the past week have been great, and without failure so far. I am waiting to take a bite of my lunch soon and have it be disgusting…woops!

I guess I should start taking pictures before I feast, because most of the time I find pictures more effective than a description. Also, who wants to read when you can look? I have learned this from my recent museum of nature experience!

Creations of the week include:

a) mandarin dijon chicken with rice. The trick is to add corn starch to the mandarin juice and dijon, it thickens up when heat is added quite nicely. Also, don’t throw the actual mandarins into the frying pan until the last 30 seconds, or else they could get mushy and gross. Ick.

b) honey and oat bread, and cinnamon oat bread. YUM!

c) banana muffins!

d) pesto mini pizzas. I found myself lacking pizza sauce, and with plenty of pesto! cheese, veggies, and maybe some ham if you’re up to it. Also…pineapple!

e) apple and brie grilled sandwich.

f) tuna mixed with arugula and almond dip (PC, new, and amazing, and introduced to me by a co-worker), with slices of apples and pineapple inside a pita! Delish! Chicken would probably do the trick as well!

g) Sandwiches can be great meatless! In fact I find the meatless ones to be the most enjoyable! Although I’m not a vegetarian, I eat very little meat, and I find veggie dishes to be amazing. Today I made a sandwich with the following on it (and grilled of course, because I have a weird obsession with grilled sandwiches): pesto, avocado, tomato, cucumber, red pepper, and brie. I was lacking beets and sprouts which would have made an awesome addition!

h) linguine with broccoli and peppers. Make your own sauce! Because it’s boring to always have the same old tomato sauce. Try sunflower oil with spices like oregano, parsley and pepper. You can also add pesto, which as you can probably see by now is a staple of mine.

I will probably go on some cooking spree tomorrow for my lunch. Hopefully this time I remember to take pictures before mowing down. Hope you try some of my ideas, because you probably will not regret it!

Leave a Reply

